What is listing advertisement? Explanation of the mechanism and basic operation method

Search-linked advertisements that appear on the search screen according to keywords and advertisements that appear according to keywords in web articles are collectively called “listing advertisements.” Listing advertisements are an effective means of being found by prospective customers who are interested in your company’s products and services.

This time, while holding down the basics of listing ads, we will introduce how to use them and how to measure their effectiveness.

listing advertisement

Table of Contents

What is listing advertisement?

What is listing advertisement?

Listing ads are ads that are displayed according to search keywords and user attributes on search engines such as Google and Yahoo! and partner sites.

For example, if you search for “CRM” on a search engine, you will see ads related to CRM tools as shown above. Attract interest with titles and ad text that meet the needs of users searching for “CRM”, and get them to click on them to transition to the landing page and lead to some kind of action such as inquiries, document requests, and sign-ups. purpose.

What is the difference between listing ads, paid search ads, and PPC ads?

Listing ads are also called “search-linked ads” or “PPC ads (abbreviation of Pay Per Click, click-based ads)”. Strictly speaking, these three words do not mean the same thing.

Listing ads are classified into “search-linked ads” and “content-linked ads (display ads).” In other words, search-linked ads are part of listing ads. Also, PPC advertising refers to pay-per-click advertising, which is not the same as listing advertising.

However, in many cases, listing ads are recognized as search-linked ads, so this article will basically focus on search-linked ads.

Pay attention to the difficulty of keywords to be set

Advertisers who place listing ads set “keywords”. On the other hand, when users search, they enter search keywords (queries). Ads will be displayed when the set keyword and query are highly relevant.

Keywords include “big words” with high search volume and “small words” with low search volume.

big word Words that are frequently searched
(category names, popular product names, etc.)
・Automobile insurance
・Hot springs
・Sterilization goods
small word A compound word that adds a condition to a big word. Needs are fragmented ・Comparison of car insurance quotes
・Hot springs with children Hokuriku region
Products for special purposes ・Food Freezer

In the case of big words, there are many opportunities for advertisements to be displayed. However, various needs are mixed, and it may be difficult to understand the intentions of search users.

To take an extreme example, what if a restaurateur tried to advertise with the keyword “restaurant”? There is a high possibility that users with various purposes such as “I want to find a nearby restaurant”, “I want to open a restaurant”, “I want to know the meaning of a restaurant”, etc., and users who are unlikely to make a reservation may also appear in

In addition, keywords with high search volume have a lot of competition and the bid unit price tends to rise, so be sure to consider the search intent, search volume, and cost-effectiveness included in the keyword when selecting the keyword.

Ad display rank is determined by “Maximum CPC” and “Quality Score”

When an advertiser sets up programmatic ads, they bid an amount that says “I will pay up to this amount for the cost per click.” This maximum bid is called your maximum cost-per-click.

Ad position is determined by multiplying “Maximum CPC” and “Quality Score” (“Quality Index” in Yahoo! Ads).

The Quality Score (Quality Index) is a 10-point evaluation by the search engine that determines whether the content of the ad and the content of the landing page of the link match the keyword, and whether the user’s click-through rate is high. .

For example, let’s say three companies bid on a keyword.

Company A 100 yen 7 100 × 7 = 700 First place
Company B 120 yen Four 120 × 4 = 480 2nd place
Company C 150 yen 3 150 x 3 = 450 3rd place
  • Company A with a quality score of 7 sets a maximum cost per click of 100 yen
  • Company B with a quality score of 4 sets a maximum cost per click of 120 yen.
  • Company C with a quality score of 3 sets a maximum cost per click of 150 yen.

Since the ad position is displayed in descending order of the ad rank, company C set the highest maximum CPC among the three companies, but because of the low quality score, the display position was 3rd. I was. Simply setting a high maximum CPC bid does not guarantee that your ad will be displayed at the top.

How to determine cost per click

Entering a maximum CPC bid does not mean that the user will simply pay the maximum CPC multiplied by the number of clicks. The user pays “cost per click” x number of clicks, and the cost per click is determined by the following formula.

CPC (JPY) = Ad Rank value of the ad below the house ad ÷ quality score of the house ad + 1

In the example of Company A above, 480 (Ad Rank value of Company B) ÷ 7 + 1 ≒ 70 will be 70 yen.

3 advantages of listing ads

Listing ads have three main advantages:

  • You can approach users who are close to closing a deal with pinpoint accuracy
  • You can make a budget while making trial calculations
  • Ready to deliver, ready to improve

Let’s take a closer look at each benefit.

You can approach users who are close to closing a deal with pinpoint accuracy

Listing ads are advertising media that can encourage users with some purpose to achieve their goals.

For example, let’s say there is a beauty salon that uses Excel to manage customers. I wondered if there was a better way to manage customers, so I asked a question on a Q&A site. I know that there is “customer management software” in answers and advertisements. Knowing that there are free ones, I searched for “customer management software free”.

In other words, listing ads target users who think they need a solution, and users who specifically start looking for an “answer” that can solve that problem.

The strength of listing ads is that the moment the user who searched sees the ad, it can pinpoint “This is what I’m looking for”. It can be said that it is easy to get results because it can appeal to the manifested layer with high purchasing desire.

Easy to set an appropriate budget based on competition and search conditions

In the case of listing ads (search-linked ads), you will be charged when the user clicks on the ad. The cost of advertising per click is called cost-per-click (CPC). As mentioned earlier, the cost per click is determined by taking into account various factors, so the publisher does not know it at the bidding stage.

Therefore, you can know the predicted value by using “Keyword Planner” for Google Ads and “Yahoo! Keyword Advice Tool” for Yahoo! Ads.

By accessing Google Keyword Planner and entering a keyword from “Check search volume and forecast data”, you can obtain maximum CPC, monthly ad cost, search ranking, etc.

In this example, we used the keywords “office chair”, “office chair to prevent low back pain”, and “office chair not to get tired”.

By using this tool, you can choose the most suitable keywords considering the maximum amount of money that can be placed and the click-through rate.

Ready to deliver, ready to improve

Listing ads can be delivered on the same day as long as they pass the screening of Google Ads and Yahoo! Ads, which provide delivery services.

The distribution results can be viewed in real time from the management screen for both Google Ads and Yahoo! Ads. While looking at the results, for example, you can immediately stop products that are out of stock, or change the time of day or day of the week when it is easier to attract customers.

The analysis of the results will be explained in detail in the ” Analyzing the effectiveness of listing ads ” section of this article later in this article .

Listing Advertisement Procedures

I will explain the procedure for actually placing a listing advertisement. Here, we will explain the procedure for placing search ads among listing ads.

Two companies, Google Ads and Yahoo! Ads, provide listing ads

The major platforms that provide listing ads are Google Ads and Yahoo! Ads. Google Ads and Yahoo! Ads provide search advertising and contextual advertising under different names.

search advertising Google search network search ads
Content-linked advertising Google Display Network display advertising

Listing advertisement placement destinations for each platform are as follows.

search advertising Google Search, Google Play, Google Shopping, Google Maps, Google search partners (Livedoor, goo, OCN, etc.) Yahoo! Search Yahoo! Partners (Excite, Bing, Ameba, NAVER, Asahi Shimbun, etc.)
Content-linked advertising Google Display Network (Gmail, YouTube and more than 2 million sites that partner with Google) Yahoo! News, Yahoo! Auctions, affiliated partner sites

The biggest difference between Google Ads and Yahoo! Ads is the placement. Consider which platform your ads will be seen by more users and use either platform.

create an account

Now, let’s check the procedure for actually posting listing ads.

Whether you are using Google Ads or Yahoo! In the case of Google, you can start Google Ads with a regular account, but you cannot create multiple accounts with one email address. Therefore, in the case of a company, it is better to use an email address that can be shared by the department in charge. Yahoo! Ads requires a business account.

This account supervises the entire advertisement, and payments are also made through the account. The relationship between accounts and ads is shown below.

create a campaign

Once you have created your account, it’s time to create your campaign. A campaign is a category that further organizes a group of ads that are packed with ads.

For example, if you are selling on an EC site, you can create campaigns for “domestic” and “overseas” and promote sales separately.

You can also create campaigns with the goal of acquiring prospective customers by dividing campaigns into head office and branch offices.

This campaign allows you to decide on budgets, regions and languages, delivery networks, ad duration, and more.

Click “Create new campaign” from the overview page to move to the next page.

You can choose any of the above campaign goals, or you can create a campaign without choosing one. Depending on your campaign goals, you’ll see the right campaign type.

For example, if you click on “Promotions”, you will see several campaign types.

From here, select a search campaign. You will then be asked what you would like to do to “promote”. Here, select “Visit Website” and enter the URL of the website.

Next, set the region, language, and audience for which you want to distribute the ad, and then decide the budget and bid price.

Create an ad group

Once you’ve decided on your budget and bids and saved them, it’s time to create your ad groups.

Decide on a name for your ad group and think of keywords. Also set the keyword match type.

create an ad

Created in order of Account > Campaign > Ad Group > Ad. The next step is creating the ad copy. Once you have created the ad copy, you are ready to publish your listing ad.

The basic building blocks of an ad are keywords, headlines, ad text, and the URL of the web page that is displayed when clicked.

Since the keyword has been decided earlier, enter the headline, description, and path (directory in Yahoo! Ads) here.

A path is a word that expresses the content of the destination URL, and by setting it, users can click on the ad without anxiety.

For example, suppose the actual destination URL is “www.example.com”. You can add English or Japanese text to this URL to help you imagine what the destination page will look like.

For example, for an advertisement for an office chair that is effective in preventing back pain, enter “www.example.com/office_chair/back pain prevention” and add the path “office_chair” and “back pain prevention” to the normal URL. Users will know what to expect after clicking this URL.

When you enter the headline, description, and path, the actual advertisement that will be posted on the search screen will be displayed in the “Processing” area in the above figure.

Please be aware that Google Ads and Yahoo! Ads have different specifications. Google Ads gives you more options, but if you want your ads to be minimal, you can create an ad without any options.

Various display options can be set depending on the purpose, such as a site link display option for directing users to a website or a phone number display option for encouraging inquiries by phone.

Here are the rules for submitting ad text for Google Text Ads and Yahoo! Search Ads.

headline You can create up to 3 headings of up to 30 half-width or 15 full-width characters. You can create up to 2 headings of up to 30 half-width or 15 full-width characters.
Explanatory text You can create up to 2 descriptions of up to 90 half-width or 45 full-width characters. Up to 80 half-width or 40 full-width characters,
only one description
Path (Google)/Directory (Yahoo!) You can create up to 2 paths of up to 15 half-width or 7 full-width characters. Up to 2 directories can be created with up to 15 half-width characters or 7 full-width characters.
display options Sitelink display optionsPhone
number display
optionsCallout display optionsStructured snippet
display optionsAddress
optionsAffiliate address display optionsMessage
display optionsPrice
display optionsApp
link display

optionsUp to 25 characters

Quick link display options
Phone number display options
Text Supplementary options
Category Supplemental options Up

to 25 half-width characters, 12 full-width characters

Add a headline, description, path, and display options to complete your text ad.

Tips for creating a listing ad that grabs the user’s attention

Tips for creating a listing ad that grabs the user's attention

In the case of listing ads, especially search-linked ads, structuring titles, descriptions, and links can be very effective if it hits exactly what users are looking for. Here are some tips for creating listings that capture the attention of your users.

How to read the intention behind the search keyword?

For example, imagine a parent searching for the query “how to study”. What this parent wants to know is not “how to study”, but “how to improve their child’s grades”. So, if you see the headline of an advertisement that says, “Individualized tutoring cram school that is strong for regular exams,” you will probably click on it first.

If you’ve ever searched, you might be aware of it, but there’s a bit of a gap between search keywords and actual search intent. Based on the data, think about what users who are looking for your company’s products and services actually want.

Suppose your company sells office chairs, and the strength of the chair is “back pain prevention”. Therefore, we consider a combination of keywords such as “office chair”, “office chair back pain prevention”, and “office chair fatigue free”.

Once you have come up with several keyword combinations, use the keyword planner (keyword advice tool) to check how many searches you actually get.

We found that 3,314 clicks were obtained for “office chair” in one month, but only 4 clicks were obtained for the words “prevention of back pain” and “no fatigue”.

From here, we will broaden our horizons and search for even better keywords from the perspective of office management, combining “employee health maintenance” and “health management.”

How to create eye-catching titles and descriptions?

Once you’ve picked your keywords, think about the title and description for your ad.

There are three basic units that make up a listing advertisement: (1) URL, (2) title, and (3) description.

The role of headlines is to present solutions to users who say, “I want to be” or “I want to be”.

Up to two sentences are required for the title, which is displayed between vertical bars “|”. In the example ad above, you’ll see two headlines: ‘HubSpot Reporting Add-on Tool’ and ‘HubSpot’.

The description tells the user that there is an inevitability that they must click on the ad. Tell them in a few words that there is a solution after clicking the ad. In addition,we will incorporate strengths such as “free”, “free shipping”, “same day response”, and “high quality” .

Creating a description with 45 double-byte characters may seem difficult at first. In that case, create multiple ad sentences and improve them while looking at the results.

Make landing pages relevant to search intent

Advertisements are not complete on their own. It is also necessary to consider the landing page of the induction destination as a set.

Users click on the link expecting a detailed explanation of what is written in the ad copy. The important thing is that the message on the ad and the landing page match The following three points must be kept in mind for the destination landing page.

  • Does it have a structure that is close to the user’s psychology?
  • Is there a way to solve the problems of search users, such as white papers and product purchases (whether there are conversion points)
  • Are the CTAs in place to lead to next action?

Analyze the effectiveness of listing ads

Analyze the effectiveness of listing ads

For Google Ads and Yahoo! Ads, you can immediately grasp CTR (click-through rate) and CVR (conversion rate) from the management screen. You don’t know the keywords or the ad text until you actually deliver it, so it’s important not to miss the analysis.

All Campaigns is the first thing you see when you log in to Google Ads. Then work your way down the hierarchy, campaign by campaign, ad group by ad group, and so on.

Ad reports show the performance of each ad. Check the conversion and customer attraction status of each.

Finally, when you get to the keywords, find out which keywords are effective and which ones are not.

Since the results are displayed for each keyword, it is a mechanism that allows you to see at a glance the conversion and customer attraction status. It often takes several months to accumulate results that can be analyzed, so let’s check it tenaciously.

If you’re still not getting clicks across the board, consider changing your keywords. Find effective keywords while changing your perspective.

Understanding users is the key to successful listing ads

Understanding users is the key to successful listing ads

Listing advertising is easy to start, and it is a medium that allows you to approach indicators that are directly linked to your business, such as increasing sales and acquiring prospective customers, in a relatively short period of time. Start small and build a way to get results fast.

Listing ads are not charged unless they are clicked, which makes sense as an advertisement only when they can attract the user’s interest. Look for keywords that grab the user’s attention. Let’s explore creatives that capture the hearts and minds of users through advertising operations. As with any policy, continuing to focus on the user’s point of view will eventually lead to great results.

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